Check out Chika a Day!

16 Oct

I met Naomi Martinez probably about five years ago when I was tabling at the DIY Trunk Show for the first time.  She told me that she was working on a comic book and gave me her card. Later in the year we met up again at Gutters which was a monthly comic book group held at Chicago Comics. Since then we’ve been great friends and I really admire her style (and she’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever met).

Naomi’s art is always positive, colorful and fun. The majority of her pieces feature Chika’s (super cool grrrls) and Monstrochika who is a little furry, blue monster. She also creates plushes, murals, and other fun stuff. Someday I would love to see a children’s book from Naomi. Until then I recommend checking out her website and her blog. Currently she is drawing a doodle a day and has over 20 doodles up so far. The image I have featured here is one of those (and it kind of reminds me of myself when I was little).

2 Responses to “Check out Chika a Day!”

  1. Naomi November 5, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Oh wow! Thanks Mindy so honored! Great work/blog. Love ya girl 🙂

    • mindyfisher November 6, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

      awwwwww, no problem Naomi! I’m a fan!

Leave a Reply

